Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Mr. Basketball

Incoming MSU guard Cassius Winston of University of Detriot Jesuit High School and Academy was named Michigan's Mr. Basketball.  The yearly award honors the top senior basketball player in the state since 1981 by the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan(BCAM).
Winston is the 14th Mr. Basketball that will end up playing for the Spartans.  Along with Winston, they are:

2015    Deyonta Davis      Muskegon High
2012    Matt Costello        Bay City Western
2010    Keith Appling       Detroit Pershing
2009    Derrick Nix           Detroit Pershing
2004    Drew Neitzel         Wyoming Park
2006-07 Topps #244
2002    Paul Davis             Rochester High
2001    Kelvin Torbert      Flint Northwestern
2000-01 Michigan State
2000    Marcus Taylor       Lansing Waverly
2001-02 Upper Deck MVP #209
1999   Jason Richardson   Saginaw Arthur Hill
1993   Jon Garavaglia       Southgate Aquinas
1994 Classic #9
1990   Anthony Miller       Benton Harbor
1992 Front Row #65
1988   Matt Steigenga       Grand Rapids South Christian
1989-90 Hoops #149
 1981   Sam Vincent           Lansing Eastern

Also of note is that the BCAM is naming Retro Mr. Basketball winners. Starting in 2010, they are naming one honoree for each decade with the year ending with number of the current year.  For example, in 2010 they selected Mr. Basketballs for 1980, 1970, etc.
So far, the only Spartan that was given a Retro Mr. Baskeball is Pete Gent
1990 MSU Collegiate Collection #130
Gent is most famous for playing the Dallas Cowboys and writing the book, "North Dallas Forty".

No comments:

Post a Comment